That’s The Power Of Love. Can You Feel It?

(My cousin) Andrew: Okay, what are your coping strategies [for being with my family over the holiday]?
Me: Before I respond to any character attacks, I’m going to wait the amount of time that it takes to mentally review the lyrics to The Power Of Love by Huey Lewis in order to give me time to calm down and formulate a reasonable response.
Andrew: And what’s your response to, “I gave birth to you and you never loved me!”
Me: “Well, not NEVER.”
Andrew: Oh, I’m sorry. You just lost your inheritance. Now it goes to me.
Me: Shit, wait. Okay. “AHHHHHH…the power of love…is a curious thing…make-a one man weep, make another man sing…” I’m sorry you feel that way, mom. It works!
Andrew: Of course it does. I do it all the time. Not with stupid songs, though.
Me: What are you talking about? You don’t need no credit card to ride this train.

Merry Christmas, everyone! I mean happy holidays blahbittyblah.

3 Responses to “That’s The Power Of Love. Can You Feel It?”


  1. 1 -R- December 22, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    You are a genius. I am totally using this with my in-laws this weekend.

  2. 2 stefanie December 22, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    Does this work with sisters, too, and not just parents? I sure hope so.

  3. 3 Jess December 27, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    I hope you had a great holiday. Sounds from this entry like it was probably a doozy.


Leave a Reply

