2007 (But Really This Time)

1. What did you do in 2007 that you’d never done before?
I remember a bat in my guest room, and then a bat condo (i.e. Sam Adams box) on my patio because my stupid kindhearted cousin Andrew thought it would be cruel to not provide it with an alternate home. WHAT? Yeah, I think that was in January, and everything that happened after that is pretty much a blur.

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions?
I think this was a “screw resolutions, just drink” kind of year.

3. What countries did you visit?
Just this one. Boo. I’m patriotic.

4. What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?
Motivation. Which is the same thing I said a year ago…

5. What dates from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
October 28, when the Sox won the world series. Again, bitches!

6. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Winning the Nobel prize.

7. What was your biggest failure?
Misplacing it.

8. Did you suffer illness or injury?
I had strep throat, which was surprisingly sucktastic and laid me up for a few days. I also had a pre-schooler accidentally spill hot tea on my business… my lady business.

9. What was the best thing you bought?
Umm… apparently I didn’t buy anything this year.

10. Whose behavior merited celebration?
I don’t know. Let’s get some fuckin’ French toast.

11. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
People who don’t get the snow off the roofs of their cars and then it turns to ice and flies off at other motorists (i.e. me) in jagged chunks of death.

12. Where did most of your money go?
Condo fee, bills, Fresh City, savings, CVS. Seriously, since this really awesome one opened right near me, somehow I’m there like every day. It’s just so PRETTY. Maybe I should go to more museums or something.

13. What song will always remind you of 2007?
The one about how she dug her keys into the side of his pretty little souped up four wheel drive. Gah, point taken: I will never, ever cheat on Carrie Underwood.

14. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) Happier or sadder? Sadder, but working on it.
b) Thinner or fatter? About the same.
c) Richer or poorer? Richer.

15. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Exercise.

16. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Worrying.

17. How did you spend Christmas?
I was with my family.

18. Did you fall in love in 2007?
Yeah.

19. How many one-night stands?
Oh, you know me.

20. What was your favorite TV program?
How about the ones I don’t like? I don’t like anything scary or violent, so basically all the shows that just have letters as titles, which always surprises people because I guess I don’t seem like a delicate buttercup, but I AM. I own my lame TV taste… I mean, I still miss Felicity and Providence. And Sisters! Okay, so I really like The Office, How I Met Your Mother and The Hills. I never think to watch any of the HBO shows and even though everyone and their brother told me to watch Arrested Development, I still haven’t. I don’t know, I never keep up with a show every week, I always end up watching some crap on VH1 reading the works of Stephen Hawking.

21. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
No.

22. What was the best book you read?
Eat Pray Love.

23. What was your greatest musical discovery?
I like Coconut Records. And Hannah Montana! Come on, she’s spunky and adorable and that music is catchy. I also like that she’s 15 and doesn’t try to look 21, but she’ll probably be anorexic and humping John Mayer by this time next year. Anyway, I also liked both volumes of the Elizabethtown soundtrack. It didn’t come out this year but I “discovered” it this year. Cameron Crowe and his wife, What About Love Don’t You Want Someone To Care About You, have great taste.

24. What did you want and get?
A new digital camera.

25. What did you want and not get?
Mr. Red.

26. What was your favorite film of this year?
I loved Superbad.

27. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 30! I went out with friends and family.

28. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Traveling. I really have no excuse.

29. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007?
Ponytails and t-shirts in the summer and ponytails and sweaters in the winter.

30. What kept you sane?
My friends quite literally kept me sane this year.

31. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Jason Varitek and Seth Rogen.

32. What political issue stirred you the most?
Trying to make sure I say Osama instead of Obama at work because I have a student named Osama, and trying to make sure I say Obama instead of Osama everywhere else, because, well… you know what, this is a very politically incorrect conversation. You should be embarrassed.

33. Who did you miss?
I miss Elusive Jen, who moved away to New York.

34. Who is the best new person you met?
I don’t know. Who did I meet this year? That person at your wedding was nice. I have no idea.

35. Tell us some valuable life lessons you learned in 2007.
Not to let stupid crap ruin a friendship. Not to hate on people who have gerbils even though they are wiggly balls of disgustingness. Not to use phrases like “hate on” because shut up trendypants. Oh, and also, that I can be totally full of shit. I’d always been really exasperated by friends who dated guys who didn’t deserve them… not exasperated by my friends, but by the idea of anyone I loved wasting any amount of time analyzing the whims of a guy who didn’t measure up. And then I fell for a ginormous loser and it’s taken me months to deal with it rationally… and I’m still not, entirely. So I’m humbled and will no longer be dispensing completely logical advice* and then wondering why it’s so hard to follow. I get it now.

*I never dispensed completely logical advice anyway, so it’s not a huge leap.

36. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
Soulja boy off in this hoe
Watch me lean and watch me rock
Super man that hoe
Then watch me crank that Robocop
Super fresh, now watch me jock
Jocking on them haters man
When I do that soulja boy
I lean to the left and crank that thang

7 Responses to “2007 (But Really This Time)”


  1. 1 steve January 2, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    #2: Amen, sister.
    #19: You rock like the proverbial hurricane, Red.

  2. 2 andyouknow January 3, 2008 at 12:58 am

    How can you do this twice and have it be perfect and awesome both times? I hate you.

  3. 3 andyouknow January 3, 2008 at 12:59 am

    Sorry, that sounded stalkerish.

  4. 4 kate January 3, 2008 at 1:26 am

    Not to weird you out, but look up “Superman dat ho” on urbandictionary.com. Set face to stun.

  5. 5 yeahsoanyway January 3, 2008 at 1:39 am

    Steve, ha, thanks.

    Andyouknow, well, you see, it’s a delicate balance of…
    just kidding. Thanks, that’s sweet of you.

    Kate, holy craaaap. And I was already mad at urban dictionary for ruining boo cookie for me! For years it was a ghost-shaped Halloween bakery treat and now… it is decidedly not. I mean, what’s next? Does “happy birthday” now mean “ride my drunk sister’s oddly shaped pootangatang”?

  6. 6 d January 3, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    I read this list in the voice of jack handey in my head. (well, not the souljah boy part)

  7. 7 yeahsoanyway January 3, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    D, I still have happy memories of Uncle Caveman.


Leave a Reply

