Something New

So one of my New Year’s resolutions (aside from go to the gym get in shape eat vegetables be organized buy less makeup don’t roll in at 3 AM don’t sleep with someone just because my pants are off just kidding) is to do something new every day. People hear this and go, “Ooh!” And then, immediately, “So, what have you done so far?” Um. Well…

I’m starting on Monday, of course! Just like I’ll be starting going to the gym getting in shape eating vegetables being organized buying less makeup not rolling in at 3 AM, etc. Ahh, Monday, always just a few short days away, allowing you the luxury to do whatever you want right now with the promise to yourself that you’ll turn it around as soon as the weekend is over. I think I’ve vowed to get my act together every Monday since I was twelve.

Really though, I like the idea of doing something new every day, if only for the blogging opportunities it will present. Although I have a bad feeling that it’ll be less “went to Thailand” and more “licked my clock radio” as I sit around trying to think of something that will count as “new” that day. But we’ll see. So let the newness begin! And maybe the buying less makeup thing.

Nah, fuck that. Makeup is awesome.

10 Responses to “Something New”


  1. 1 nabbalicious January 5, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    Whatever you do, don’t wear leather pants.

  2. 2 yeahsoanyway January 6, 2008 at 12:28 am

    Shit, I know Friends too well to not have thought of that. Okay, by February I’ll have my pants down and covered in baby oil and powder in a date’s apartment. That sounds like me anyway.

  3. 3 -R- January 6, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    You can do it! Or not do it, respectively.

  4. 4 Jess January 7, 2008 at 10:51 am

    “Licked my clock radio” made me laugh. I look forward to hearing about this one as it unfolds.

  5. 5 Kate January 7, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    I actually made it to February one year doing something new every day. Ah, February. Where new year’s resolutions go to die.

  6. 6 yeahsoanyway January 7, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    R and Jess, ha, thanks. Off to a thrilling start…

    Kate, I know, right? What else is February good for? No one was even born then.

  7. 7 yeahsoanyway January 7, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    Oh, wait. I think my friend Joe may have been. And Jason? And, uh, some presidents. Gah, of course. Yay February!

  8. 8 stefanie January 7, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Lick your clock radio. Ha!

    Why start on Monday? Why not next year? Maybe spend THIS year coming up with a list of new things to do NEXT year. Just an idea…

  9. 9 Allison January 8, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    So are you going to keep an ongoing post of the new things you do? If so, I definitely look forward to ‘licked the clock radio’ day!

    Too funny!

  10. 10 cupcake January 8, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    I think this is a great idea. There is actually a book called “This book will change your life” that has ideas in it if you are looking for motivation. I think you could start with liquor. Like different kinds of wine or beer everyday. That should get you through to March at least…. does that count? I think it should.


Leave a Reply

